Service Member Recognition Program

Non-Commissioned Officer (NCO) of the Year
The annual "Best Warrior" competition is part of the United States Army's Best Warrior program. Soldiers compete in two categories: the "Soldier of the Year" for E-4 and below, and "Non-commissioned Officer of the Year" for E-5 and up. Winners from Mississippi compete in the National Guard regional competition in hopes of representing the entire U.S. National Guard in competition against winner from across the Army .​


Staff Sergeant Gerald L. Peck II, 154th Regiment

Previous Winners:
2015: Staff Sergeant Ashley B. Porter, 154th Regiment
2014: Staff Sergeant Cody W. Espinoza, Battery B, 1st Battalion, 204th Air Defense Artillery Regiment
2013: Staff Sergeant Brandon O. Tedford, 154th Regiment
2012: Staff Sergeant Richard R. Williams, Headquarters & Headquarters Company, 2d Battalion, 198th Armor Regiment
2011: Sergeant Nakomus T. Oliver, 2d Battalion, 198th Armor Regiment
2010: Staff Sergeant Marcus D. Patterson, 1st Battalion, 204th Air Defense Artillery Regiment
2009: Sergeant John R. Cochran, Army National Guard Training Site Camp Shelby
2008: Sergeant Michael W. Willis, 890th Engineer Battalion
2007: Staff Sergeant Terry A. Armstrong, 154th Regiment
2006: Staff Sergeant Kevin L. Parker, 3656th Maintenance Company
2005: Staff Sergeant Jerry A. Henry, Army National Guard Training Site Camp Shelby
2004: Sergeant Susan Horvath, Company C, 106th Support Battalion
Revised: 3/25/2016 6:47