Service Member Recognition Program

Soldier of the Year
​The annual "Best Warrior" competition is part of the United States Army's Best Warrior program. Soldiers compete in two categories: the "Soldier of the Year" for E-4 and below, and "Non-commissioned Officer of the Year" for E-5 and up. Winners from Mississippi compete in the National Guard regional competition in hopes of representing the entire U.S. National Guard in competition against winner from across the Army .​
Landrum-t.jpg ​

Specialist Quashena S. Lee, Army National Guard Training Site Camp Shelby

Previous Winners:
2015: Specialist Ethan D. Scott, 890th Engineer​​ Battalion
2014: Private First Class William D. Landrum, Company B, 1st Battalion, 155th Infantry Regiment
2013: Specialist Caleb A. Roberts, 3656th Maintenance Company
2012: Specialist Joseph A. Higgins, Army National Guard Training Site Camp Shelby
2011: Specialist Jason C. Young, 1st Squadron, 198th Armor Regiment
2010: Specialist Matthew L. Cook, 223d Engineer Battalion
2009: Sergeant Raymond T. Conley, Army National Guard Training Site Camp Shelby
2008: Specialist Matthew L. Wilson, 114th Military Police Company
2007: Specialist David A. Hester, 114th Military Police Company
2006: Specialist William L. Reeves, Company D, 1st Battalion, 185th Aviation Regiment
2005: Samuel N. Athanassov, Mobilization Center Camp Shelby
2004: Daniel J. Morgan, 1st Battalion, 204th Air Defense Artillery Regiment
Revised: 3/25/2016 6:46